Watch: Springboks beat France 22-19 See Highlights NOW

Springboks beat France
Springboks beat France

Springboks beat France : What a thrilling match it was between the Springboks and France in the Rugby World Cup quarter-final in Paris! Despite some questionable calls from referee Ben O’Keeffe, the Springboks managed to secure a nail-biting 29-28 victory. 🏉🎉

Springboks beat France Highlights

Springboks vs France

At halftime, France had a narrow lead of 22-19 over the Springboks at the Stade de France. It was an action-packed first half, with both teams scoring six tries in just 40 minutes of non-stop rugby! Cyril Baille opened the scoring for France in the fourth minute, but Kurt-Lee Arendse quickly responded for the Boks, making it 7-7.

Damian de Allende put the Springboks in the lead with another try, but unfortunately, Manie Libbok missed the conversion, leaving the score at 12-5 in the 19th minute. However, Peato Mauvaka leveled the score at 12-12 just three minutes later. The Boks didn’t back down, and Cheslin Kolbe’s try, thanks to a clever kick by Jesse Kriel and converted by Libbok, put them ahead at 19-12 in the 28th minute.

But France wasn’t finished yet. Baille scored his second try, and with Tomas Ramos converting and adding a penalty goal right before halftime, the hosts took a slim three-point lead into the break.

It was a tense match, with Eben Etzebeth receiving a yellow card for a tackle that some referees might have only penalized. However, Ramos managed to slot another penalty, keeping the game incredibly close.


ALSO READ: Watch: Saya Kolisi‚Äôs Inspiring and Emotion-Filled Preparation of Springboks for France Clash

South Africa could break its tie with New Zealand (3 titles). They would become the sole holder of the record for the most titles won if they win their fourth.

If South Africa gets to the final and wins, they would maintain their 100% win rate in final appearance since their first final in 1995, when they beat New Zealand (15-12 AET). However, if South Africa end up losing the final and finish second, they would join Australia and New Zealand as the only countries to have won all three medals (gold, silver and bronze).

ALSO READ: Ireland v New Zealand Match Highlights Rugby World Cup 2023 Quarter Finals

South Africa could join New Zealand as the second country to win successive World Cup titles.

If South Africa make it to the final, they could extend their record as the only country to not have conceded at least one try during appearances in the final.


France: Thomas Ramos, Damian Penaud, Gael Fickou, Jonathan Danty, Louis Bielle-Biarrey, Matthieu Jalibert, Antoine Dupont (captain); Gregory Alldritt, Charles Ollivon, Anthony Delonch, Thibaud Flament, Cameron Woki, Uini Atonio, Peato Mauvaka, Cyril Baille. Reserves: Pierre Bourgarit, Reda Wardi, Dorian Aldegheri, Romain Taofifenua, Francois Cros, Sekou Macalou, Maxime Lucu, Yoram Moefana.

South Africa: Damian Willemse, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Jesse Kriel, Damian de Allende, Cheslin Kolbe, Manie Libbok, Cobus Reinach; Duane Vermeulen, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi (captain), Franco Mostert, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Steven Kitshoff. Reserves: Deon Fourie, Ox Nche, Vincent Koch, RG Snyman, Kwagga Smith, Faf de Klerk, Handre Pollard, Willie le Roux.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.